# SHIAWASSEE COMMUNITY FOUNDATION

# SCHOLARSHIP AWARDS

**APRIL 21, 2022** 





For good. For ever.

## ABOUT THE FOUNDATION

## **Mission**

Enriching lives in the Shiawassee County region through strong community relationships and good stewardship of our funds. For good. For ever.

The Shiawassee Community Foundation began in 1974 with \$5 and a simple vision: improve the quality of life for people in Shiawassee County.

Forty-eight years later, that vision is still being realized through the distribution of more than 100 scholarships and grants annually. The combined assets of the funds managed by the Foundation have grown to exceed \$12 million

### **Board of Directors**

Patrick Wegman, II, Chair/President
Tricia Murphy-Alderman, Vice President
Bruce Wenzlick, Treasurer
Catherine Stevenson, Secretary
Dr. Julie Creighton-Sovis

Kevin Davis

Barb Holland

Jacklyn Hurd

Brent Jones

**Becky Landris** 

Donald Levi

Ruthann Liagre

Brvan Marks

Glen Merkel

### Staff

Kimberly Renwick, Executive Director

Lora Phelps, YAC Advisor/Program Manager

> Denise Poirier, Administrative Assistant

## SCHOLARSHIP RECIPENTS

**ALEXANDER WOMEN'S SCHOLARSHIP** 

KARL F. & ZIRTHA H. (LOWERS) ALLERT MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

BANCROFT LIONS CLUB JOHN WRIGHT MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

> NANCY RUTH PATENGE BEYER MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

DR. BHASKARAN MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

BAILEY CUMMINGS

**ELSIE BLAIR & SUZANNE BLAIR** ANDERSON MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

OLIVE BLANNER MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

ELLIE FELDPAUSCH

BYRON COMMUNITY SCHOLARSHIP

DYLAN BAKER REGAN KOPESKY KYLEE WOLANIN PEARL SCHMIDT (CHASE FUND) CALEB JOSLIN (DUNCANSON FUND) LAUREN KEESLER (DUNCANSON FUND) DURAND ROTARY CLUB SCHOLARSHIP

PFC SHANE W. CANTU MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

**EMILY CHAPMAN** MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

PHILIP AND INEZ COLTON **MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP** GRACE ELFRING

PHYLLIS L. AND ALTON D. CRANDELL MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP SETH BLACKLEDGE

> KAREN K. DASEN MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

ROLLIN V. DASEN MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP IZZABELL FREDERIKSEN

DREW DECKER MEMORIAL MUSIC SCHOLARSHIP

NORMAN L. AND MARCELLA C. DESJARDINS MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

> SHANA LYNNE DUMOND MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP MARLEY MARRAH

DURAND LIONS CLUB SCHOLARSHIP SETH BLACKLEDGE ABIGALE FRANZMEIER

JESSICA WINSLOW

SHELLI (BOWLES) EDGINGTON MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP LAUREN GASKIN

## SCHOLARSHIP RECIPIENTS

### ALFORD AND ALICE EMMERT SCHOLARSHIP

CLAIRE ARDELEAN AVIANNA JACKSON WYATT ROSSER JAYME ZELENKA

#### DON & BECKY GALLOWAY SCHOLARSHIP

CLAIRE BUCKLEY
KEZZIE DIETZ
MAKAYLA LIENAU
RACHEL WARREN

## THE GFWC OWOSSO WOMAN'S CLUB SCHOLARSHIP

LILA BELMER

## CYRIL C. & ELLA M. GREGORICKA AGRICULTURE SCHOLARSHIP

JAYME ZELENKA

## PHYLLIS LUNDIE GRUVER MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

SAWYER BALL-DULEY

### HAROLD J. HAAS MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

MARLEY MARRAH STELLA PASSOW JAYME ZELENKA

## COACH TOM HARKEMA ATHLETIC SCHOLARSHIP

ELLIE FELDPAUSCH SETH HINTZ

## ELLANE I. HOGAN MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP SAWYER BALL-DULEY

C.S. HOOD MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

VANESSA HEWITT
ELIZABETH POIRIER
KADENSE ROBINSON
KARA SIEGEL
ALIVIA TITHOF
EMBRE WILLSON
GRACIF YERIAN

## CHERYL L. HRCKA MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

ELLIE FELDPAUSCH GRANT GOETSCHY GRACE O"NEILL DOMINIC TESTA

### HAROLD V. AND IMA B. JOHNS MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

STELLA PASSOW

### DONALD A. KNIEPER MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

ETHAN BRUNNER

### KNIGHTS OF COLUMBUS ST. MARY'S COUNCIL 7955

RYAN KLEIMOLA

### K OF C ST. MARY'S COUNCIL 7955-DR. JEAN & PETER SLOAN MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

HAYLEY LADEMANN

### KRIS MARIE KULHANEK MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

KATLYN CUNNINGHAM

### LAJOYE-SHENK SCHOLARSHIP

**ALLIE JONES** 

### JACKIE LEONE MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

KATLYN CUNNINGHAM

## IRIS (TURK) LOTT MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

COLIN LAVERY

## SCHOLARSHIP RECIPIENTS



NICHOLAS HEALEY

DR. MARK MILLER MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP FUND

ASHLEE NAPIER

EUGENE & JOYCE MOILES MEMORIAL SCHOLASHIP

MADISON CHMIKO

JOANN (BUTCHER) NELSON MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

HARRISON KETCHUM

NEW LOTHROP SCHOOLS ENDOWMENT SCHOLARSHIP

SAMUEL COLLINS

NATHAN NOVER
MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

JANA LESPERANCE

NOVER OHS SPARKPLUG AWARD

JACK SMITH

MARTIN AND LEONA
O'BRIEN SCHOLARSHIP

BRETT RILEY

OWOSSO EDUCATION ASSOCIATION'S MARY E. HARPER SCHOLARSHIP

ELLIE FELDPAUSCH HARRISON KETCHUM JILLIAN KLAVER KEVIN LASKOWSKI EMILY SUMMERLAND

OHS LEADERSHIP SCHOLARSHIP

MADALYN HASYN

ANDREW OSIKA ENDOWED
AGRICULTURAL SCHOLARSHIP FUND

**BROCK HOLEK** 

PAUL PENJASKA FAMILY SCHOLARSHIP

TROY BEDELL
AIDAN CUSTER
EMILY DALEY
ZACHARY PICKLER
JACK SMITH

ANYA WASILENSKI

SHIRLEY (1936) AND JOSEPH POIRIER SCHOLARSHIP

KEVIN LASKOWSKI JENA SAMSON

KYLER RAFFAELLI MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

BRADY COON
JONAH KISSER

MICHAEL ANTHONY RANDOLPH
MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

JILLIAN KLAVER

DAVID A. REED AGRICULTURAL SCHOLARSHIP

KATLYN CUNNINGHAM FMILY GUTZMAN

**EVAN JAMES REED MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP** 

SYDNEY WYZGA

ANDREW REHMANN
MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

HALEY VINCKE

OWEN A. AND D. ARLENE ROOD JOURNALISM SCHOLARSHIP

IONAH LINGER

**ERWIN RYCKMAN SCHOLARSHIP** 

CLAIRE SANDERLIN

BILL & KAY SCARLETT
MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

LILA BELMER CLAIRE SANDERLIN DOMINIC TESTA

(IN MEMORY OF LARRY ARENDT)

## **SCHOLARSHIP RECIPIENTS**

MARGARET SCOUTTEN & RAYMOND O. NASH
MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

GRANT GOETSCHY

RONALD K. SEELHOFF MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

**FMMA SMITH** 

SHIAWASSEE COUNTY BAR ASSOCIATION,
PATRICIA CARMODY
MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

SAMANTHA THAYER

JOSEPH T. SIERZENGA, III MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

REECE KRAMER

ROBERT G. SKINNER MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

PAIGE FONDREN

STEPHEN AND PAULINE SMITH FAMILY SCHOLARSHIP

JADE GARSKE
ALLIE JONES
JESSICA WINSLOW

JOHN AND JOAN SPINDLER FAMILY SCHOLARSHIP-IN MEMORY OF JOHN, JENNIFER, & JERI SPINDLER

BROCK HOLEK

ROGER AND MARIAN TALBOT FAMILY SCHOLARSHIP

TYLER SAGE

**IRENE TURK MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP** 

CARLI WARREN

BRAD A. VANPELT MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

RYLIE BAKER EMMALEE HUDECEK JENA SAMSON CARSON JAMES VINCENT MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

MARY DRAHER
JACOB SCHAUB
MAXWELL SPIESS

TROY A. VINCKE
MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

ISABEL HENIGE JASON WEBER

CARL E. VOORHIES AND KATHRYN D. VOORHIES MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

REGAN KOPESKY KARA SIEGEL

MARY BEA DEBOOM WASPER SCHOLARSHIP

STELLA PASSOW

DEBRA WEGMAN MEMORIAL FUND

HANNAH ARDELEAN

CARL R. WOODBURY
MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

KENDALL ANDERSON

KEVIN A. ZMITKO
AGRICULTURAL SCHOLARSHIP

BRETT RILEY

ZONTA CLUB OF OWOSSO SCHOLARSHIP

KEZZIE DIETZ

# Thank You

Thank you to all donors, fund representatives, scholarship applicants, and community supporters. We appreciate you!



## SHIAWASSEE

— COMMUNITY FOUNDATION —

For information about the Shiawassee Community Foundation grants, scholarships, donating, or opening a fund, please contact our office.

> 217 N. Washington St Suite 104 P.O. Box 753 Owosso, MI 48867 (989)725-1093 www.shiacf.org

Thank you to Board Members Bryan Marks of Great Lakes Family of Companies and Glen Merkel of Davis Cartage for generously sponsoring the Scholarship Awards Ceremony and supporting all that the Shiawassee Community Foundation does!





